IFFI announces Films in Debut Competition


Algerian film Abou Leila directed by Amin Sidi-Boumedine and Korean film Romang by LEE Chang-geun will be among the films in Debut Competition section of the 50th International Film Festival of India that will be held at Goa from November 28.

The festival which has been launch pad to several filmmakers over the past 50 years aims at bringing the best first time filmmakers of the year in this section, organisers said on Sunday.

Romanina film Monsters by Marius Olteanu, US film My Name is Sara by Steven Oritt and female filmmaker Eva Cool’s Cleo are among the other films which made it to Debut Competition this year.

The National Award winning film Hellaro by Abhishek Shah and Malayalam film Uyare by Manu Ashokan are the Indian films competing for the Award for the Best Debut feature film of a director at 50th IFFI.

Award carries Silver Peacock, a certificate and a cash prize of Rs. 10,000,00 to be given to a feature film that reflects a new paradigm in motion pictures in terms of aesthetics, technique or technological innovation.

The IFFI has always been about celebrating exquisite movies. With multiple film sections that exhibit films from different countries, languages and genres, IFFI acts as a platform for people to appreciate these creations of art.

Each year, the coveted ‘Golden Peacock’ prize is won by one movie in the International Competition Film Section. The Golden Peacock Award carries a cash prize of Rs 40 lakhs to be shared equally between the Producer and the Director, Trophy and the citation.

This year, the International Competition consists of 15 movies out of which 3 of them are made by Indians. In this competition section, films have been produced and co-produced by 22 countries.

Here are the list of movies that have been selected for the 50th edition of IFFI:
1. Balloon, China, directed by Pema Tseden
2. Chronology, Turkey, Ali Aydin
3. Lillian, Austria, Andreas Horvath
4. Marighella, Brazil, Wagner Moura
5. Out Stealing Horses, Norway | Sweden | Denmark, Hans Petter Moland
6. Particles, France|Switzerland, Blaise Harrison
7. Stories from the Chestnut Woods, Slovenia, Gregor Bozic
8. The Science of Fictions, Indonesia | Malaysia | France, Yosep Anggi Noen
9. Steed, Mongolia, Erdenebileg Ganbold
10. Captives, Hungary, Kristóf Deák
11. Watch List, Philippines, Ben Rekhi
12. Antigone, Canada, Sophie Deraspe
13. Son – Mother, Iran | Czech Republic, Mahnaz Mohammadi
14. Mai Ghat: Crime No. 103/2005, India, Ananth Narayan Mahadevan
15. Jallikattu, India, Lijo Jose Pellissery

The IFFI, founded in 1952, is one of the most significant film festivals in Asia. The festival is conducted jointly by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Directorate of Film Festivals and the Government of Goa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here